

# Town of Tolland

241 West Granville Road, Tolland, MA 01034-9403

Phone: (413) 258-4794 Fax: (413) 258-4048

selectmentolland@tolland-ma.com

## **Board of Selectmen's Minutes 07/25/16**

#### Board of Selectmen Town of Tolland

#### MINUTES OF SELECTMEN MEETING - July 25, 2016 5:00 PM

Selectmen Present: Eric R. Munson, Jr., Steven DellaGiustina and Thomas Paine

Also Present: Ed Deming, Police Chief & DPW Superintendent

Valerie Bird, Board of Health Agent

Jeremia Pollard, Legal Counsel via telephone

The Board of Selectmen requested clarification in regards to how and if the Tolland Police Department will handle trespass calls within WPOA. Jeremia stated that the Tolland Police Department should not be enforcing WPOA's bylaws. If a WPOA resident is on WPOA property and is aware that the WPOA bylaws don't allow them to be there, it is WPOA's internal security's issue.

Valerie informed the board that she will be appearing in Housing Court on Monday, August 1 to discuss the failure to board and secure property located at 1200 Hartland Road.

Ed questioned who is responsible for servicing the Fire Department's "porta pottys" after use? The Selectboard stated that the "users" is responsible.

Ed spoke with Jeff Messenger about adding and changing the Transfer Station hours. Jeff was not in favor of the change. The current hours will remain.

Valerie mentioned that she had received an email from Charles Clines of MassDEP with concerns that the Transfer Station's 3<sup>rd</sup> party inspection has not been completed. Eric will discuss the inspection requirement with Joanne Duval.

Ed, Police Chief explained why the Police Department Salary account was in a deficit for Fiscal 2016. Ed explained that he thought he had been on budget but miscalculated.

Steven stated that in the future he and every department head needs to track their budgets so that a deficit does not happen.

Library bids (siding/windows & ext trim) will be opened on Monday, August 22<sup>nd</sup> at 5PM.

2017 appointments:

Animal Control Officer:~ Joanne Duval

Animal Inspector:~ Joanne Duval

Assistant Town Clerk:~ Margaret McClellan

Assistant Treasurer:~ Susan Voudren

Conservation Commission
Alan Binder

#### David Spidel

Valerie Nickerson, Agent

Council on Aging

Jean Armitage,
Jennifer Clark
Ruth Buchanan
Mira Munson,
David Spidal,
E. Patrick Storey,

Jennifer Clark
1st year of 3 year term
1st year of 3 year term
2nd year of 3 year term
2nd year of 3 year term
3rd year of 3 year term

Vacant

Finance Advisory Committee: (5 Year term)
Theodore Locke III, Chair (2018)
Ralph Ledger (2020)
Mira Munson (2019)
Margaret McClellan (2021)
Cathleen Parzych (2017)

Grant Writer Vacant

Health Agent:~ Valerie Nickerson

~

Historical Commission:

Eric Munson, Jr. Thomas E. Paine E. Patrick Storey

Recreation Committee
Margaret McClellan
Steven DellaGiustina

Southwick Tolland School Committee

----- Theodore Locke III

School Committee Alternate: Vacancy

Workers' Compensation Agent:~ M.I.I.A.

Building Inspector/Zoning Enforcement Officer:~ Eric Munson, Jr. ~~~~~~~ Alternate Building Inspector:~ Robert Sullivan

Cemetery Committee:

Mira Munson Jean Jinks Roy Jinks Jeff LaCasse Vacant

Constables: Eric Munson, Jr.

Electrical Inspector: Jay (Joseph) Reynolds
Alternate Robert Kimberley

Emergency Management Director:~ Theodore Locke, III

Fire Chief:~ Eric R. Munson III

Forest Fire Warden Eric R. Munson III

Gas Inspector

Hazardous Waste Coordinator Michael Sullivan Assist. Hazardous Waste Coordinator:~ Eric R. Munson, III

Highland Valley Board of Directors: ~ Jean Armitage ~Pioneer Valley Planning Commission

#### ~Pioneer Valley Planning Commission

Joint Transportation Committee Commission:~ James Deming Alternate Commissioner:~ Kathleen Cowles

Planning Board

Alternate Shawn Shaw

Plumbing Inspector:~

Plumbing Inspector:~ Brian Middleton

Police Chief:~ Edwin Deming

Police Officer:~ Sargent Lester Walker

Officer Miguel Santana

Christopher Jackson

Reserve Officer: Eric R. Munson, III

> Dana Beardsley Christopher Driscoll Robert Spiegler Christopher Provost

Special Police Officers: Ronald Minor

Scott Flebotte Patrick Winslaw

Superintendent of Public Works:~ Edwin Deming

Town Counsel:~ Jeremia A. Pollard

Transfer Station Administrator Joanne Duval

Tree Warden and Pest Control Agent:~ Edwin Deming

~Unemployment Insurance Agent:~ Margaret McClellan

Website Delegate:~ Kevin Donovan Committee Member: Danny Duval

Hannah Gangaware Myles Trachtenberg Mark Orenstein

Zoning Board of Appeals

E. Patrick Storey Dan Rego David Spidal Jerry Mannion

### **Election Workers**

Jean Armitage

Penelope Babbitt

Theodore Babbitt

Jennifer Clark

Victoria Clarke

Joanne Duval

Frank Fazi

Margaret McClellan

Margee O'Meara

Peter Sullivan

Richard Toni

**Shirely Warner** 

Jennifer Zerra

Heidi Cowles

Election Warden: Janice Greene

Registrar of Voters: Patricia Baceski, Jessica Kelmelis, Dorothy Toni and Susan Voudren

Meeting adjourned at 8:00PM Respectfully submitted, Margaret McClellan

Eric R. Munson, Jr. Steven DellaGiustina Thomas Paine Board of Selectmen